Cover Your Mouth and Wash Your Hands!

Practically everyone I spoke to this week is either fighting a severe cold, a major sinus infection, bronchitis, pneumonia, asthma, the flu or a combination of a few of these. Amid the sneezing, nose drips and coughing, everyone should be mindful to cover their mouths and wash their hands. Now you would think that covering your mouth and washing your hands would be a given, but you will be amazed by the number of people who do not.

I briefly ran to the grocery store this week and it appalled me by how many people were coughing and sneezing “without” covering their mouths. So it’s pretty scary to imagine how many of these very same people will not wash their hands afterwards. Probably zilch. Another thing that just completely blows me away is how often I am in a restaurant’s public bathroom and watch people walk directly out of a bathroom stall and bypass washing their hands. Next thing you know, you see them sitting at their table and have resumed eating their meal.

I have to constantly saturate my hands with a moisturizer because of how frequently I wash them. When I began wearing contact lens about 3 decades ago, my optometrist stressed the importance of thoroughly washing my hands before I handled my contact lens. I can understand that word of caution to prevent an infection, but I have a hard time understanding why you have to tell adults especially, to wash their hands after they have used the bathroom or even after they coughed and sneezed. That would seem like common sense, but that’s just me.

Here is a health smart article that stresses one of the easiest ways to avoid getting sick. http://www.usaweekend.com/article/20101224/HEALTH01/12260304/Want-to-stay-well-Wash-your-hands. It is understandable that you cannot fight every germ or bacteria, because it’s not possible. But it is possible to reduce the amount of your exposure to sickly and sometimes deadly viruses that can be preventable with simple precautions. Stay well.

Leave a Reply

