World Book Night 2012: History In The Making

Kym Gordon Moore
World Book Night 2012 Volunteer

Today we are celebrating World Book Night by spreading the love of reading person to person. It is an honor and pleasure for me to be chosen as one of the first 2012 World Book Night volunteers for the United States of America.  I was blessed to be able to give away the World Book Night Special Edition Copy of “I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings” by Dr. Maya Angelou, who by the way is my favorite poet and author.

Some of the students who attend the Belmont Avenue location of the Greater Boys & Girls Clubs in Charlotte, North Carolina were the recipients of this beautiful autobiography written by Maya Angelou. This book is the first book I read that was not required reading in school. I read my sister’s copy of this book in the late 70’s and with the intention of returning  her book, I purchased my very own copy of this beautifully written book. Although I have yet to return my sister’s book to her her, “I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings” is certainly one that you will never tire of reading over and over again, regardless of the edition you have! The words are still the same.

I wrote a letter to the recipients who received a copy of this book I gave out, who attend the Charlotte Boys & Girls Club, that read in part:

I want to encourage you to begin your personal library of reference books, novels or books of poetry to help you build a priceless reference center at home. Be sure that your home library includes a “dictionary” and a “Thesaurus.” Try to keep a pen and pad with you so that you can jot down thoughts or ideas that could eventually turn into a book, poem, painting, a song or even a term paper.

I want to encourage you to discipline yourself into reading a few pages of a book each day to help you strengthen your vocabulary, spelling, speech and brainpower. Use what you learn to help others by paying it forward.

This month, we are also celebrating National Library Month. If you are unable to buy books, then visit your nearby local library to check out books, videos and other reference materials to help empower you to learn. Thank you for letting me give you this gift of “I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings.” Keep reading! 

I would like to thank the World Book Night organization for selecting me as one of the 5,000 book givers who made history tonight, in the United States and around the world. This was a priceless opportunity for me and I am so grateful to be a part of such a monumental occasion shared by millions of book volunteers and book recipients around the world. For more information about World Book Night, visit http://www.us.worldbooknight.org/.

Reading is Knowledge! Knowledge is POWER!

4 thoughts on “World Book Night 2012: History In The Making

  1. francenemaire says:

    Although we have electronic devices to read and communicate, thank you for reminding us to physically turn a page to move our minds. Your infectious words prompts us to share a book and value the conversation that follows. Thanks for sharing “World Book Night” and making history with The Boys & Girls Club in Charlotte, North Carolina.

  2. Thank you Francene! It was such a blessing to be a part of and to share the stage with wonderful people like you, who are connected to this mission. Thank you for your support! 🙂

  3. Hello friends from the UK! It was indeed a wonderful day, especially when you can bring a smile to so many faces and carry a positive message behind it! Cheers to next year! I am excited as I am sure you are! Take care!

Leave a Reply

