Celebrating National Poetry Month with “Zephyr and the Seven Circuits”

Zephyr and the Seven Circuits from Diversities of Gifts: Same Spirit by Kym Gordon Moore“You have made known to me the paths of life; you will fill me with
joy in your presence.”
– Acts 2:28 (NIV)

Zephyr and the Seven Circuits

Gigantic trees created an umbrella of serenity
trickling waters from a nearby pool
calmed my tense, nervous spirit
I said a short prayer before entering the meandering path
that first step into the seven circuit labyrinth
was my hardest one to take
inhaling a deep breath and then another
curiosity and magnetism drew me in deeper.

A hound named Zephyr
belonging to the labyrinth keeper
followed me into the sacred space
I welcomed his unexpected companionship
rounding the first circuit
I’d taken on a new pattern of thought
a spiritual cleansing had begun.

Suddenly I became aware that the hound disappeared
perhaps sensing that this part of my walk
had to be done alone.
Elements of nature embellished each segment of the trail;
twigs, leaves, branches
cracked open walnuts and rocks
sporadically scattered over the spherical gravel path
current reminders that life’s course
is not always a smooth journey.

I maneuvered around these objects
some big and others small
symbolizing the unexpected obstacles I encounter daily.
Retracing my steps on the way out
unloading some emotional burdens I carried in
out of nowhere Zephyr reappeared
as if to congratulate me on my unicursal journey
my challenging first step is now my past
discovering a greater peace within and a divine revelation.

*Celebrating National Poetry Month! This poem is from the book “Diversities of Gifts: Same Spirit.” (2009)

2 thoughts on “Celebrating National Poetry Month with “Zephyr and the Seven Circuits”

  1. total wellness cleanse detox scams says:

    Cool blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A design like yours with a few simple adjustements
    would really make my blog jump out. Please let me know where you got
    your theme. Thanks a lot

Leave a Reply

