2014: Ready or Not, Here I Come!

from behind the pen, happy new year, new year's day, 2014Like clockwork, each new year arrives, pushing the old year behind. Each year and each day brings its share of highs and lows, joys and pains, surprises and expectations, life and death, tests and testimonials, challenges and victories. Typically, there is some level of expectancy that I have before the closing of one year and the arrival of the next. I use my end of the year moments to reflect on memories of the year, and how God pulled me through some heart-wrenching events when my emotions seemed to clog my throat. This time however, I feel like I was thrown off a bit and perhaps a little unprepared, as 2014 arrived and commenced on its daily cycle.

I really like the opening line from Gladys Knight and the Pips’ 1973 song, “Neither One of Us Wants to Be the First” that talk about the relationship between two people. For me, these words in this song are a testament of how truly great and awesome God’s relationship is and has been in my life. That song begins with these words: “I’ve had my share of life’s ups and downs, but faith’s been kind…the downs have been few.” While the “downs” were fewer than the ups, sometimes the downs are more often etched, recounted and remembered.

So as it is at the beginning of this new year, I’ve come to realize in my faith and daily journey that this year will present its share of life’s ups and downs. I will continue to pray for strength, wisdom and understanding for both case scenarios. And like clockwork, if God spares my life on this earth for another eleven months and 29 days, 2015 will be here before you know it; and I will bask in the blessings that always come with the newness of life in another new year! A toast to living your dreams!

Leave a Reply

