Today is Clean Out Your Bookcases Day

Clean out your bookcases day, reading books, book inventoyyIn order to remain committed to “The Great Book Reading Challenge”, so that you can get your books organized and access what books you have, what you read and those that are yet to be read, today we are celebrating Clean Out Your Bookcases Day. As I am taking inventory of the books I have, those that I read and didn’t, I am finding a few unread books that simply have bookmarks in the table of contents.

Well, now that I managed to complete reading 3 books so far this year, hopefully I will be able to go through these that I have the table of contents bookmarked and get started with completing those. I am keeping my fingers crossed that this will slow down my obsession to always stop by the bargain book sections, regardless if I am in a bookstore or grocery store.

Nicholas Sparks, Micah Sparks, Three Weeks with My BrotherI completed “Three Weeks with My Brother” by Nicholas Sparks and Micah Sparks. I really enjoyed this book, although Nicholas Sparks has a way of making me go through a box of tissue before I finish the book. I do recommend reading this book, because you will truly understand and appreciate who Nicholas Sparks really is and learn about his close relationship with his brother Micah. You will also see how they both tried to cope with the back-to-back tragedies they endured starting at a young age.

Alice Walker, Possessing the Secret of Joy, Female Genital MutilationI also read another book, “Possessing the Secret of Joy” by Alice Walker. I had this book for so long until the edges started turning a soft tan color. Geez! Anyway, the storyline of this book is an emotional one. It speaks candidly about female genital mutilation that is practiced among my cultures, although this story focuses on certain tribes in Africa. I had no idea that such a practice is also recognized among a few cultures here in the U.S., which was absolutely shocking to me. This is a very real, yet tough subject to read about and it made me squirm on more occasions than not. It is however, a book that I do recommend.

So today, start going through those mounds of books you have, take inventory and recommit yourself to The Great Book Reading Challenge for 2014. Reading is truly fundamental.

Happy Clean Out Your Bookcases Day!

Leave a Reply

