Easter Memories

Celebrating Easter, Happy Easter, The Resurrection, Easter Sunday

Today we celebrate Easter. We all have memories of Easter in one way, shape or form. On this day, pen how you feel about Easter or how Easter has affected your life. Did you experience any life-changing events that leave you with indelible memories that will forever touch your heart?

I experienced a life-changing event that literally shattered my world 11 years ago today. It was Easter Sunday, April 20, 2003. I received a call from my sister that my mother was admitted to the hospital, due to labored breathing. When my brother-in-law called me later that evening of Easter, I found it odd that he called instead of my sister, and he told me I needed to come home. My heart sank and for the next 3 hours driving to the hospital, the road seemed to never end. I knew in my heart my mother was gone, although my brother-in-law didn’t say so, but I still kept a little bit of hope that she was still holding on. The drive seemed to go on for days, but my husband and I finally arrived to the hospital. When we got to my mother’s room, my sister, brother-in-law, my youngest brother, father and a member of my brother-in-law’s church surrounded my mother’s bed. I walked in and she looked like she was sleeping. I looked at my sister and asked, “She’s not gone is she?” My sister nodded yes and everything after that seemed like a blur to me.

The days after were no easier as we made final preparations for her funeral. Although it’s been 11 years, the pain does not hurt as bad as it initially did, but that void is forever there and at times uncontrollable crying has its moments. If it wasn’t for my constant writing, I think I would have probably spent tons of money on professional help. I cried my way through the keys of my computer when I wrote about my mom and what made my writing more special was when the editors from “Chicken Soup for the Soul: Thanks Mom” sent me an acceptance letter that my story about my mother was going to be included in that volume. You can’t imagine how honored and proud I was. I dedicated an elegy to my mother that was part of my collection of poems in my book “Wings of the Wind: A Cornucopia of Poetry.” Through it all, you do get through it, although you never get over a loss.

I found, as I am sure you probably have, that writing is a therapeutic tool when you are dealing with some type of challenge in your life. It may not be a published piece, but it can certainly be a catalyst of hope, inspiration and strength to help you through whatever it is you are going through.

If you’ve been putting off a journaling project or writing project, jump to it. Observe the things that happen around you today and simply begin writing. Don’t worry about editing, just begin writing your thoughts and emotions down on paper. You can’t imagine how therapeutic it is and how much better you will feel.

Happy Easter!

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

