Did the Rubik’s Cube drive you crazy too?

Rubix Cube 2, Magic Cube, Rubik's

Today we celebrate the 40th anniversary of the invention of the Rubik’s Cube. This 3-Dimensional puzzle was invented in 1974 by Ernő Rubik, a Hungarian sculptor and professor of architecture. I remember when the Rubik’s Cube came out and tried it, but fell short of getting some paint to color the few that I simply couldn’t align. I liked some puzzles, but after a certain about of failing efforts, I raised my white flag and surrended to letting the geniuses deal with it. I don’t know someone who has personally solved this mysterious cube, but have seen some people do so with little effort; or so it seems.

The Rubik’s Cube was originally called the Magic Cube and licensed by Ernő Rubik to be sold by Ideal Toy Corporation in 1980. It won the German Game of the Year special award for Best Puzzle. Over 350 million cubes have been sold worldwide which makes it the world’s top-selling puzzle game.

For 40 years I have not been able to solve the mystery and math of the Rubik’s Cube, but I certainly enjoy and continue to be intrigued by those who do!

Leave a Reply

