It’s Hard to Say Goodbye to Dr. Maya Angelou

Maya Angelou, Marguerite Ann Johnson, Phenomenal Woman, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

April 4, 1928 – May 28, 2014

“Nothing can dim the light which shines from within.” – Maya Angelou

The poetry community stands still as another great voice has fallen silent. I simply cannot express the sadness I feel right now as I, and so many others grieve the loss of Dr. Maya Angelou today. It is not a secret that she was my favorite poet next to my mother. It wasn’t about Dr. Angelou’s fame, but about her message. She commanded, not demanded attention because her messages were powerful and resonated among the lives of so many people regardless of race, creed or color.

Born Marguerite Ann Johnson, Maya Angelou experienced many adversities and made some unfortunate and unpopular choices in her life, but through these experiences she found her voice which shed light on the remarkable woman she was. I was proud to see her stand on the podium at President Bill Clinton’s Inauguration and recite her poem “On the Pulse of Morning.” Her soul stirring voice will always resonate with me. My only regret is that I never had the opportunity to meet her. Rest in peace Dr. Angelou!

“We may encounter many defeats but we must not be defeated.”Maya Angelou

3 thoughts on “It’s Hard to Say Goodbye to Dr. Maya Angelou

Leave a Reply

