Let the Summer Explosion of Poetry Begin!

From Behind the Pen, Poetry, Reading, BooksThe summer is known for relaxing, doing fun things, exploring some sweet vacation spots and catching up on some really good reads. I wanted to spotlight any poet interested in having one of their books of poetry featured on this forum to submit their interest for consideration to be included during the upcoming week.

My reason for reaching out to my fellow poets was due to the fact that among the many lists of recommended reads for the summer, I was unable to find one complete list that included a volume of poetry. I must say however, that I am delighted to know that Oprah Winfrey, a voracious reader, notes in her July edition of O Magazine (yep, I still subscribe to hard copy magazines) that among her private library of favorite good reads, she mentions her complete collection of Langston Hughes’s poetry and prose. You go Oprah!

There is still hope for our poetry network! Yay! With that said, although I sadly only received a handful of submissions by the posted deadline, I will remain on course to feature these die-hard poets as planned. It is my sincere hope that these spotlights will reintroduce my audience and yours to some poetry books that you can add to your personal library or give as a gift. Instead of starting on Sunday, I will begin posting the featured authors and their books on Monday, June 27, 2016. Poets will be notified when their spotlight will be published. We appreciate and thank everyone for their support.

Here’s to a Summer Explosion of Poetry! Cheers!

 

Leave a Reply

