RSS

Happy Birthday Popeye the Sailor Man

17 Jan
Popeye the Sailor Man, Comic Strips, Elzie Crisler Segar, Olive Oly

Image Credit: popeye.org

Who remembers the fictional comic strip characters Olive Oyl, Swee’Pea, Bluto, Castor Oyl, J. Wellington Wimpy, and of course that muscular, spinach eating seaman, Popeye the Sailor Man? Today marks the day the character Popeye the Sailor Man appeared in the daily King Features comic strip, Thimble Theater in 1929. This cartoon fictional character was created by Elzie Crisler Segar.

Here’s a blast from the past with these lyrics from the song, “I’m Popeye The Sailor Man:

I’m Popeye the sailor man. I’m Popeye the sailor man.
I’m strong to the finich, cause I eats me spinach.
I’m Popeye the sailor man.

I’m one tough gazookus, which hates all palookas.
Wot ain’t on the up and square.
I biffs ’em and buffs ’em and always out roughs ’em
But none of ’em gets nowhere.

If anyone dares to risk my “fisk”, it’s “boff” an’ it’s “wham” un’erstan’?
So keep “good be-hav-or”, that’s your one life saver
With popeye the sailor man.

I’m Popeye the sailor man, I’m Popeye the sailor man.
I’m strong to the finich, cause I eats me spinach.
I’m Popeye the sailor man.

Happy Birthday Popeye!

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
