Is Your Dream Really YOUR Dream?

Dreams, Ambitions, Goals

Over the years I lost a tremendous amount of money investing and purchasing programs of what others have convinced me was my dream of security. I surmised that if I worked hard to acquire the things that people dangled in front of me and said I should strive for because I could turn my dreams into reality, then I would be in great shape at this point, relying on a profitable ROI (Return On Investment).

Yet, somehow I grew increasingly exhausted until I had my “a-ha” moment almost 20 years ago. I trusted people who were so charismatic that they said exactly what I wanted to hear because these cunning individuals knew how to “spin” their influence on people who were like me (the type of people wanting to desperately do better for their family)! Later I realized that such people, who were in all actuality making out like a fat-rat, profiting off of people like me, were actual predators.

Now even after all of those losses, I ran directly into another “dream” booby-trap about 12 years ago that I must say I blame myself for. I had a friend (at least that’s what I thought at the time) who I believed was a great business person because of the businesses they owned and the impressive stuff they had. (I know, not all those well-known people self-claiming to be smart business people really are). Their material possessions make you think they are financial geniuses. Since I trusted this person, I thought I could plausibly give their proposal a shot, even though my gut screamed caution. Guess what? I was duped again, thousands of dollars later. To say the least, that friendship ended, when I realized it was not as genuine as I thought it was.

Sometimes, we get to a point in our life where we feel we need to desperately make certain decisions before we lose out. A dear friend of mine once told me that desperate people make desperate decisions. I get it, I get it, I get it!

Now, when someone says to you, “Turn your dreams into a reality,” make sure that it is your dream, because if it isn’t you will be stuck in a reality called a nightmare! Just sayin’.

Leave a Reply

