Fore Play

Golf, Sports, Golf Swing, Golf Clubs, Tee

Today is Golfer’s Day. We celebrate by playing the game, recognizing those who play it professionally and leisurely, and many who may not play, but hold the beauty of the game in high regard. It is believed that the game of golf actually originated in Scotland although the true origin of the word is unknown. We salute all of the great Masters Champions of the past, present, and future.

Congratulations are in order to Sergio Garcia who scored big in The 2017 81st Masters Tournament this weekend. This is his first win at The Masters and his first major championship after 19 years on the PGA tour. He walked away with a $1,980,000 prize purse, the famous Green Jacket, his name engraved on the permanent Masters’ trophy which remains at the Club, a Sterling replica of the Masters Trophy and a gold medal. Sweet! The 2017 KPMG Women’s PGA Championship kicks off June 27-July 2, 2017 at the Olympia Fields Country Club in Illinois.

Since I am not a bonafide golfer, although I have all of the equipment to look the part, I decided to share this lighthearted poem, “Fore Play” to commemorate Golfer’s Day and National Poetry Month.

Fore Play

My Titleist was on the tee
Big Bertha in my hand
as he told me to bend my knees
part my legs ever so slightly
keep your eye on the ball he said
then swing your arms, hips, and follow-through
now with a strong voice yell “Fore!”
Huh? What did this have to do with swinging?

Fore what? is the question I had to ask?
What kind of foreplay is this?
To fore-warn others of a wayward shot
no one wants to get hit by a stray ball you know?
Fore crying out loud, why not just yell “Move!”
How about “Watch Out” or “Take cover?”

Fore some crazy twisted reason
I wondered if he was really fore real
when he asked fore what purpose was I here
I looked down at the golf ball
looked out over the green
took a swing as Bertha slapped that ball
the Titleist was airborne and I yelled “Fore”
he asked why I was yelling so loud
I said, “Fore Pete’s sake, you told me to. Pete.”

-Kym Gordon Moore

5 thoughts on “Fore Play

  1. Dwight, this is based on my true story and obviously with all of the golf equipment I have, I should be better at it, but I think my husband completely gave up on me and my golfing aspirations, because I asked too many questions. He was my instructor since he golfed, but I think all of my questions drove him bananas! LOL 😀

  2. LOL Dwight! 😀 I really am more of a football, basketball kind of girl, but because golf was one of my husband’s big interests when he was in law enforcement, I figured why not see what this game that I thought was an absolute BORE is really like. I think it is akin to the game of chess. You need a whole lot of patience for the game and that’s a little out of my league! 😀 But, I try! I like more action! Ha-ha!!!

Leave a Reply

