Fright Night

Poetry, Dreams, Running, From Behind the Pen

Fright Night

I tossed and turned all night

panic-stricken dreams

drenched in night sweats

I’m running, from who or what

I don’t know, I’m just running

trying to dodge the chase

from an unknown entity

I know not what it is

 

I haven’t done anything wrong, or have I?

I try screaming, but I am mute

I look around for help but there is none

so I run

dashing across a street

not paying attention to oncoming traffic

for there is none and so I run

anxiousness overwhelms me as I leap

into a cemetery where the ground is barren

the graves all edged in river rock lay

I see the back of a women’s head

she sits by a headstone, but whose I don’t know

I’m afraid

if I wasn’t then I wouldn’t be running

 

I am still being chased

yet determined to escape,

if I am caught then what?

I don’t know. I fight?

There are others standing around,

they aren’t running, they just stand

but why, I haven’t the time to wonder

still I run, for my life depends on it

I won’t be caught

I can’t be taken, the chaser gaining on me

 

when suddenly I am whisked to reality

I open my eyes lying on my back

the room is dark

but I know my way around

I make a mad dash to the bathroom

so that’s why I had to run?

Happy #NationalPoetryMonth

Leave a Reply

