Through the Window

Window, Eyes, Poetry, National Poetry Month

It is said that the eyes are the windows to the soul. Sometimes, you have to reflect on what your eyes see and do a self-examination of yourself as you look through the window into your very own soul. Sometimes when you stare the truth in the face, it hurts, but it could offer some life-saving revelations. Take a look around and don’t be afraid to leap into your victory.

Through the Window

Today, against my will
I was forced to sit down and look out of my window
I didn’t notice anything immediately
but, in the matter of a split second
amazingly, without the help of a storybook
the story of my life was told.

Pain, challenges and grief
irreplaceable celebrations, joys, and relationships
there, before me as I watched my life’s story
through the gallery of my motion picture window.

I tried to solve everyone’s problems
tried to make everyone comfortable
without them knowing my personal struggles
because I thought, I was strong enough to handle everything.

I don’t want to change the compassionate person that I am
the love in my heart for others
my desire to help those in true need
or change the person that God created me to be.

But I must change some crucial things
causing me to lose perspective as I look through my window
eyes that were once blinded
through a distorted lens of theatrics.

As my senses awaken and refocus
I can see a day where the sun is shining especially bright
hearing the birds singing more cheerfully than before
where the grass is greener than it’s ever been
my sense of smell is keener
my taste buds can savor the essence of life more delectably

and the unexplainable needs no explanation
because my load is now in the hands
of divine control beyond human comprehension
putting everything that was broken back together again.

-Kym Gordon Moore © All Rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

