Kiddie Tats

TotTude, Tattooed Sleeves, Body Ink, Tats for Toddlers, Tattoos

Image Credit: TatTude.com

Okay, so personally I am not a huge fan of tattoos. No, I am not talking about the character Tattoo played by Herve Villechaize who was the sidekick to Mr. Roarke (Ricardo Montalban) on the television series “Fantasy Island” (1978-1984). I’m talking about good ole body ink. But, what do you think about toddlers donning such a look?

For those who adorn themselves with this body art, there is a myriad of personal and inspirational reasons why they go through hours of inking their bodies with a sharp needle. No-can-do for me sweetie pie! Now, while I am okay with tattoos on adults, I gasped when I came across an article about a father giving his son an actual ink tattoo because the boy reportedly said he wanted to be like his dad. Totally freaked me out right? I was unable to personally process the sense of logic around that story. But, of course, I am not this child’s parent or guardian either.

Airbrushed Tattoos, Tattoos for Kids, Body Ink, Tattoos

Image Source: realitypod.com (Airbrushed tattoos)

I know children are intrigued with peel off stickers they can put on their hands or face painting they have done by an artist at festivals and special events. I explored some more kiddie tattoo related stories, that made me less nervous about the real “ink” deal. I found where some parents were not as extreme with their tot’s tats. They opted for an airbrushed tattoo where designers spray inks on the body that can wash off. I also came across a company called TotTude, founded by Tera Christianson that produces hip, edgy, trendy shirts and body suits with tattooed inspired sleeves to mimic that of real adult tat sleeves. Where have I been?

While these popular tattoo applications and fashion trends are cute, theatrical and not permanent, would you let your youngster sport a look that is this edgy and grown up? Do you think it could send a confused message to children? Or do you see this as a fun and lighthearted fad that is harmless and simply artistic?

Leave a Reply

