A Poem Celebrating National Accordion Awareness Month

Lead Bellie, Music, Poetry, National Accordian Awareness Month

American folk and blues musician Huddie William Ledbetter (aka LEAD BELLY) Image Source: en.wikipedia.org

Do you play the accordion? Did you know that June is National Accordion Awareness Month? I always wanted to learn how to play the accordion and it is still on my bucket list of the many things I challenged myself to do. I never heard my grandfather play his accordion, but my mother talked about his evening musical serenades on their porch growing up. During that era, this was one of their main forms of entertainment since they didn’t have a television set. Oh how I would love to have had his wonderful instrument today!

In celebration of this beloved instrument celebrated by more people than you can imagine all around the world, I am featuring my poem, Grandpa’s Squeezebox Rendezvous.

Grandpa’s Squeezebox Rendezvous

Reeds vibrating inside a wooden box
keys and valves open for unrestricted air
melodies maintaining tonal quality and sound
pleated bellows articulate clear tones.

Stories of my grandfather playing his accordion
squeezebox serenading a soiree for song and dance
buttonboards or piano-style keyboards sing with glee
differing in pitches from applied pressure in a stance.

Oh my granddaddy, a one-man band
a wooden porch was his Broadway stage
entertaining his guests with the sounds of folk music
a free concert for everyone at any age.

© 2013 Kym Gordon Moore from Wings of the Wind: A Cornucopia of Poetry

Leave a Reply

