The Poetry Energizer: Windmill Rising

Poetry, Windmills, Energy

Energy. We are a nation of overindulging consumers. In our ongoing search for energy-efficiency, however, there are many simple things each one of us can do to conserve energy. One of the most affordable forms of electricity today is wind energy. Windmills have been around for centuries and with recent improvements in turbine technology, consumers can take advantage of affordable costs for wind energy.

I love the artistic, architectural uniqueness and functionality of a windmill. These mammoth wind-driven towers are well known in any landscape it resides. In honor of the windmill, I would like to pay tribute to these incredible structures with my poem, Windmill Rising.

Windmill Rising

Here I stand, an artistic pillar
in a picturesque prairie amid wild flowers
a stealth tower lavished by tall grass and wheat
overseeing the brackish waters of an estuary

like the nose of an airplane, I valiantly emerge
from the ground my post is hollow, towering or smock
rotating energy through sails, blades or vanes
converting a sweep of the wind, I dare stand

like the roundhouse kick of a black-belt ninja
generating electricity, extracting groundwater
wind pumps, turbines, gristmills, the power wheel
I am wind-driven, mighty I pump, stoically I stand.

© Kym Gordon Moore

Leave a Reply

