Pennies and People

Heart, Love, Coins, Many, Plenty, Lots, Cent, 1, One
Image Credit: Pixabay

Find a penny pick it up, the rest of the day, you’ll have good luck!

I know you’ve always heard some type of idiom about pennies: a penny for your thoughts · a penny saved is a penny earned · pennies from heaven…

Pennies, although the lowest denomination in currency is actually an artistic creation, the only coin currency made from copper. Whether burnished or bright, sparkling new or antique, pennies are getting a bad wrap and people are dismissing their incredible value and worth.

When I think about the unique qualities of a penny, I am reminded of how society has a tendency to look at marginalized members within our communities like lost pennies on the ground, walked over, ignored, stepped on, or flippantly discarded. All too often we watch and hear about how the disenfranchised are devalued simply based on how they look, where they come from, where they live, what they drive, what type of job they have, their economic level, their religion, or what level of education they have achieved.

Appearances and behaviors reveal that we value people based on what they give and how much they can afford. I sometimes feel like we are so programmed and disassociated from the value of worth, with pennies and people. If the penny is alleviated from the currency, do we then eliminate the number 1? Do we realize how much value each person uniquely gives to humankind and to the world? Without the penny, the value of larger denominations would not exist. We must understand how much the smaller, contributes to the larger.

Never underestimate the power, potential, the unique qualities, and value people and pennies contribute to the big picture.

18 thoughts on “Pennies and People

  1. Wow, I have chills right now. This piece is so powerful, dear Kym. The penny analogy to populations that are continuously and systematically marginalized is profound; as are your questions, and that last line will sit with me in reflection for a while. This post is very important, my dear friend. ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kym, your writing gets me every time. Your ability to introduce a subject in an interesting way and then weave a thoughtful message that makes the reader think, and question, without feeling lectured to, is truly a gift. Wonderful.💐💖

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Oh Jeff, you have no idea how much I truly appreciate that. I’ve watched how disposable both subjects are in society and it breaks my heart to see evidence of how much people are looked down on based on society’s label of their definition of value.

    You have no idea how much your kind and reflective comment means to me my friend. Thank you! 🤗💖🙏🏼

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My girl Michele, you have no idea how humbled I am by your sweet and endearing words. 🤗 I think as writers we all have a way of taking what we see and feel, and try to convert those experiences into something that would be thought-provoking and quite possibly self-examining, yet encouraging to others.

    Your comment simply warms my heart beyond measure my friend. Have an awe-inspiring day girlfriend! 🥰✨👍🏼💖

    Liked by 1 person

  5. LaDonna, you have no idea how much I appreciate your very kind thoughts and encouragement. As an expert in your field, you clearly understand how traumatizing it is to feel ostracized, based on the way people place a predetermined value on your life and contributions.

    I hope my words can make a difference in how we authentically see things and how we see people. Thanks so much my dear friend. 🙏🏼💖🥰❤👏🏼

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Michele my friend, the older I get I think I’m learning to embrace every single day with passion and as much compassion as I can. I truly appreciate your encouragement and literary support.

    The summer is another scorcher this year, sizzling hot…🔥 but I am taking that in stride too and thinking about how I can turn what seems like a negative situation with this weather into a positive approach. I appreciate you ladybug! 🙏🏼🐞💐💖🤗

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I love that! I too have embraced a fresh approach to living more fully. We only have one life, as they say. My pleasure to read and support your work, Kym. Your posts are an uplifting note to my day. 🌞

    Sorry to learn you are dealing with another scorcher. I am enjoying cooler temps and will probably have a heat stroke when I return to the desert. 🥵 Until then, I will enjoy every moment! 🌄 Thank you beautiful lady.💖

    P.S. I actually saw a dozen ladybugs today. How cute!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Live your best life my friend. Observe all that you can and then drink it in. This is inspiration at your fingertips and I know you are embracing it well. 🤗

    You have no idea how much I truly appreciate your support. I saw a few ladybugs this year but not many like I usually see. They are excellent for the garden, but like the butterflies, they have been sparse. 😔🐞🦋

    Thank you a million times over! Have a FANtabulous weekend! 🥳💖💐

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment