POETRY, PASTRIES & PIES PODCAST: The Activism and Poetry of Frances Ellen Watkins Harper

Image Source: Colored Conventions Project

“Slavery is dead, but the spirit which animated it still lives.” -Frances Ellen Watkins Harper

As we come to the close of National Poetry Month, I wanted to present this spotlight on Frances Ellen Watkins Harper (September 24, 1825-February 22, 1911), an American abolitionist, suffragist, poet, temperance activist, teacher, public speaker, and writer.

She was well-educated and had a talent for writing from an early age. Her first collection of poetry was published when she was 20 years old under the title Forest LeavesAs she began lecturing on the subjects she was passionate about, her skills as a compelling public speaker were widely praised. Her 1854 collection Poems on Miscellaneous Subjects was one of her most successful publications with an introduction written by abolitionist William Lloyd Garrison. Her heartbreaking poem “The Slave Mother” is arguably her best known. She became the first black woman to have a short story published when her work, The Two Offers, appeared in the Anglo-African Magazine.

Encouraged by these successes Frances produced a steady output of poetry and short stories. Much later, her novel, Iola Leroy, or Shadows Uplifted (1892), became another critical and commercial success.

But Frances’ literary achievements were just a smidgen of the incredibly courageous work she did unselfishly. During the 19th century, Frances Ellen Watkins Harper was a leading light in the “Underground Railroad”, a network of routes, safe houses, and people sympathetic to the plight of fleeing slaves. She worked alongside William Still, who is known as the Father of the Underground Railroad while he was an office clerk and janitor in the office of the Pennsylvania Society for the Abolition of Slavery, to help fugitives cross the border to British North America (now known as Canada). She was an inspirational figure and an activist with the mid-1850s American Anti-Slavery Society. 

With support from Stills, Frances Harper began writing poetry for antislavery newspapers. Her poem, “Eliza Harris,” was published in The Liberator, and in Frederick Douglass’ Paper. Harper wrote many poems about slaves and slavery and one of her most poignant was The Slave Auction, one that I recited on today’s podcast.

Click here to visit, follow the podcast, and engage with any of the previously recorded Poetry, Pastries, & Pies episodes.

With Gratitude,

Kym Gordon Moore, MBA   Author, Poet, Podcaster

If you are unable to listen to this episode, “The Activism and Poetry of Frances Ellen Watkins Harper” on the podcast banner below, try connecting to this Poetry, Pastries, & Pies Spotify channel by clicking on the following link: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/kym-gordon-moore/episodes/The-Activism-and-Poetry-of-Frances-Ellen-Watkins-Harper-e2j03lphttps://open.spotify.com/episode/6Zm257J6pcpIWlpwEq1tNR?si=d88693895c4a4634 

Frances Ellen Watkins Harper (1825–1911). Iola Leroy or, Shadows Uplifted. Philadelphia: Garrigues Brothers, 1892. Susan B. Anthony Collection. Rare Book and Special Collections Division, Library of Congress (046.03.00)

53 thoughts on “POETRY, PASTRIES & PIES PODCAST: The Activism and Poetry of Frances Ellen Watkins Harper

  1. This breaks my heart. Learning about this brave and talented woman; she did so much in her life to have a strong impact on others. Oh, the tears in my eyes as I listened to your wonderful podcast.

    Thank you so much, Chickie, for closing out poetry month with Frances Ellen Watkins Harper. 🩷

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fantastic Miz Kim. Loved the podcast, the poet, and the info. Great way to celebrate the close of Poetry month by introducing many of us to this previously unknown voice If she were better known bet she would have been included on some Book Ban by people who never read her or heard of her.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh goodness, if you go to the page for the post on the site, under the star rating and next to the share button there is a Reblog button. I am not sure if you can see it from the Reader menu, but when you connect to the site, it should give you that option. Thanks for letting me know Ms. Tangie! 🤗💐😊

    Like

  4. Awwwww my sweet KymberNoodle, thank you so much for your kind words of compassion. I adore her courage and she paved the way for so many people. I appreciate you listening in to the podcast. Frances’ story intrigued me on so many levels and reminded me of my humility quotient. You warm my heart Kymber dahling! Hugs and smooches! 😘💖🥰💐🤗

    Like

  5. Oh my dear Mary, thank you so much for checking out Frances’ story. It blows me away by the new poets of the past that we never heard of. I get so excited when I learn about someone from the past who made such monumental contributions, especially to poetry. I appreciate you my friend. Thank you so much. 😘🌟🥰💐😍

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks so much for your kind comments Maggie. She is indeed remarkable and very gutsy! She paved the way for many people who don’t even know who she was and how instrumental she is. I appreciate you my friend. 🥰💖😘🥂😁

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh my goodness, thank you so much for checking out a little bit about who this amazing lady was and how courageous she was. I couldn’t let the month go by without paying homage to her. I appreciate your warm words my friend. 🤗🙏🏼😍🌺🌞

    Like

  8. Oh my dear Rosaliene, I thank you for checking out Frances’ courageous and bold story. This is evident that one person could make a difference. I merely gave the introduction but her mission penetrated deeper in my spirit the more I read about her and read some of her poems. Heartbreaking but encouraging! Thanks sistah girlfriend! 😍💖🥰💞😘

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pat girlfriend, I could always count on you to make me smile, particularly about the book ban. 😱 I have to agree with you, with the content inspired by her life and those around her, she expressed so much that the people and situations she wrote about could not share or utter publicly. But she is one of many poets/writers/activists we don’t generally hear about. I appreciate your supportive words my dahling! Hugs and smooches! 🥰💞😘🌟😍

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Thanks a million Destiny. I appreciate you connecting to Frances Harper’s untold story. 🙏🏼 I only touched a little on her life, but she was filled with boldness and courage for sure. So inspiring. Have a wonderful week my dear! 😘💖🥰🌺😊

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Oh my dear Luisa, I appreciate you stopping by and checking out a little bit about Frances Harper’s story. I was so impressed and amazed by how courageous she was and how she paved the way for so many. I appreciate you my friend. 😘🙏🏼🥰💖🤗

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Wow! Wonderful post and Podcast, very interesting! My dear friend Kym & Ambassador of Poetry
    and amazing Podcaster Kym. Thank’s for share it. Have a lovely and relaxing night!
    Abrazote mi amiga!

    Liked by 2 people

  13. It is beyond me as to the families were able to watch their children walk out into the unknown. It destroys me when I just imagine this happening.
    We can’t pretend like this didn’t happen and chop out this HUGE piece of our history!!!! It’s painful but must be taught and remembered.
    Thank you for sharing this painful truth with us and this heartbreaking poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Awwww, thank you my sweet Elvira dear. Your warm words mean so much to me and I appreciate that. Have a delightfully relaxing evening mi amiga! Abrazote! 🤗🥂😊🌺☕😘💐💖🥂

    Like

  15. Oh my dear Queen B, thank you girl. 🙏🏼 Frances’ story was another one from those courageous, gutsy women who took a stand and risked a lot, including her life. But to make the type of change she did and to write about these painful occurrences is beyond anything I can imagine. She’s another warrior I do admire. She was a class act. 🌟💖😊

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Just followed your podcast Kym — Can’t wait to listen after the morning rush! God bless you, my friend. Hope you have a great day!! 🥰🤗💖💞💞

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Listened and loved it. Yo have the voice, the style, the gravitas. You’re a woman of many talents, Kym. Love how you’re using them all to such good purpose. Let’s never forget our history, personal and communal. Let’s never let anyone erase the voices of the past that can shed light on our todays and tomorrows. You are doing the work of the angels, Kym. God bless you, my friend. 💖

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Girl Dora, you have my head exploding! 😱 No girl, we cannot forget our history that helped to shape who we are today and we won’t allow anyone to try to erase it because they can’t. Continue to lift your voice and serve your purpose. All of us are charged with that and I appreciate you so much for continuing to energize me to do my part. Bless you too my dear sistah girlfriend. Hugs and smooches! 😘💖🤗💐🥰

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Oh my dear Layla, thank you so much for your kind and compassionate words of support. 🥰🙏🏼😍 Always keeping an ear and eye out for something new to learn and digest. I appreciate it my dear. 💞

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment