Habit Forming

Image Credit: Moe Magners

Habits. We all have them whether we are cognizant of how many we have or not. Now, this is not about those habits, you know, the clothing worn by nuns, but about our daily customs or practices. We develop routines, which inevitably become habitual. Yet, you can develop a good and healthy habit that can turn into a healthy and safe lifestyle routine. So often, unhealthy habits can create a cataclysmic effect on your overall well-being. Is there is a habit that you changed or maybe trying to break that has affected you or is negatively affecting your lifestyle?

You can always plug in or substitute a positive and progressive routine that morphs into a habit of hope which wipes out debilitating or destructive habits. When I worked on the changes I felt I needed to make in areas that impeded the progress I tried to make, I knew if I didn’t make immediate and necessary changes, I would remain in the ‘same’ place, just at a different time.

I also noticed if I tried to overdo or speed up my changes for long-term routines, I would fail and regress to my old methods of operation. But with bite-size digestible tweaks that developed into progressive and monumental changes for the better, I am not stressed or anxious but instead moved into my new frame of a healthy mindset and physical development.

If we have to make adjustments to break bad and destructive habits, let’s tackle those adjustments consistently and watch our routine’s progression reach heights it never before has. Our habits didn’t happen overnight. We consistently practiced these habits because we wanted to, whether or not they were unhealthy. The good thing about any habit that wastes our time, abuses our time, or consumes our time uselessly is that we can and must make up our minds to shift our gears and throw out the routine trash that backs up our mental, emotional, or spiritual pipes.

51 thoughts on “Habit Forming

  1. β€œOur habits didn’t happen overnight.” So it might take time for them to leave, but with determination they certainly will. Thanks for the sober thoughts. Bless you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I began to walk more and drink/eat less upon retirement. I lost over 50 pounds and have kept it off for over 10 years. I am still losing weight but at a much slower pace. In my book, any year that I don’t gain weight is a good year, although losing weight is still better, Great post, Girlfriend.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your comment about “bite-size digestible tweaks” is the secret sauce! Small steps over time can make a big positive difference in our lives. Thanks for the Monday motivation! πŸ™ŒπŸ»

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh my dear Selma, sometimes we can fall into the trap of habits, and become complacent thinking it’s normal because it has become normal. Oh brother! πŸ˜²πŸ€¦πŸ»β€β™€οΈπŸ˜« Thanks so much for your introspect my dear! πŸ˜ŠπŸ’πŸ₯°

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks so much Joanna. Old habits are hard to break sometimes, but it is possible, especially when those habits hinder our growth in other areas! Thanks so much for your insight my friend. πŸ˜ŠπŸ™πŸΌπŸ’–

    Like

  6. And look at you my fierce warrior. And 50 pounds eh? What an awesome feat and a great new habit to have! You prove that when you put your mind to something, and you stay committed to making that positive change, you will succeed. So proud of you Miz Patsy Watsy! πŸ€—πŸ’–πŸ₯°

    Like

  7. Yes, yes, yes Maggie…achievable ways indeed. This is why I stopped making New Year’s resolutions a few decades ago. I was setting myself up for failure. 😣 I appreciate you chiming in my friend. Thank you! πŸ€—πŸ™πŸΌπŸ˜˜

    Like

  8. Girl Queen B, when we recognize what needs to be done, we have to press that recall button to remember to do those vital things that will only be a helpmate…especially stretching. Girl, if I don’t stretch before I mow the lawn, even soaking in Epsom Salt won’t help! UGH! πŸ˜πŸ€¦πŸ»β€β™€οΈπŸ˜œ

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Wow! Wow! Wow! Wonderful post! My dear friend Kym as
    always you know how to inspiring us. Some times we want
    to do many things or change many situations at the same period.
    Maybe just need to improve little by little changing and it
    could be easier start to move to another step. Ofcourse all
    of us need less stress. Thank’s for share it. Have a realxing,
    cozy, lovely evening and tea time! Cheers!
    Abrazote mi amiga!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. wonderful reminders and advice, Kym…we do tend to get lost to these habits and often forget that when it has a negative impact on us….we can change it to a positive.
    🀍

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Oh yes, you are absolutely right my dear Elvira. Little steps lead to big changes. So glad this message resonated with you my dear friend. Gracias! Abrazote! πŸ˜ŠπŸ’–πŸ₯°πŸ™πŸΌπŸ€—

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment