Pythagorean Theorem Trigonometry Proof Is Not Impossible for Calcea Johnson and Ne’Kiya Jackson

As we continue to observe Teacher Appreciation Week, I came across a fascinating story that I had to share, which shows the influence of just how much students can excel with the encouragement from a teacher who cares and can help to change their lives.

Students, Calcea Johnson and Ne’Kiya Jackson from St. Mary’s Academy in New Orleans, Louisiana stepped up to a challenge presented by their Mathematics teacher, Michelle Williams (Advanced Math, Algebra II, & Calculus) of what seemed impossible. This high school teacher didn’t really expect a solution when she presented a 2,000-year-old Pythagorean Theorem problem to her class. St. Mary’s Academy of New Orleans aims to raise the bar of expectation for all of its students and not lower the ceiling.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is image-16.png

Image Source: YouTube

It’s always been assumed that any alleged proof of Pythagoras’s Theorem based on trigonometry must be circular. But Calcea and Ne’Kiya took what was thought to be impossible and turned it into a great mathematical achievement. The pair recently presented their findings at the American Mathematical Society’s Annual Southeastern Conference.

This is an excellent example of how kids can excel with a little encouragement and support from a teacher who can change their lives. Please check out this interview with Bill Whitaker from CBS’ 60 Minutes. Outstanding job ladies.

33 thoughts on “Pythagorean Theorem Trigonometry Proof Is Not Impossible for Calcea Johnson and Ne’Kiya Jackson

  1. How awesome is this! I have hazy recollections of studying Pythagoras’s theorem but don’t remember anything else. What a wonderful teacher to encourage her students to go beyond what was expected and achieve the remarkable. 👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Its beautiful. I always loved maths i guess its really because I had wonderful teachers in my life. Thanks for sharing such a beautiful post

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Chile Pat, me neither. I went back to technical college to work on my architectural engineering degree, but guuuurrrrlllllll that trigonometry which is critical for the designing part of architecture whipped my behind. Needless to say, there went my dream of being an architect! LOL 😲😝🤣

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh absolutely Sadje. I am simply in awe of their commitment. And yes girlfriend, the Pythagorean Theorem is a wisp of a memory for me girl. I truly applaud these young ladies achievements. Thanks for your lovely comment. 🥰💖🙏🏼

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks so much Ria for your sweet comment. I discovered that I was not mathematically inclined like this. I had some amazing teachers in high school, and I liked numbers, but just applied in a different way. Thanks so much for your kind comment. 😍💖😊

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Day-yum, Girlfriend. Im impressed you even tried that track. I was torn between English and History and ended up majoring in both.

    But we both got our MBAs. 🤓👍🙏

    Like

  7. Oh my gosh Rosaliene, their story brought me to tears. It goes to show you what a little encouragement from a teacher or school administrator can do to impact young lives so profoundly! 🥰🙏🏼😊💖😍 Thanks so much for your uplifting remarks sistah girlfriend.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Girl Tam, they are beyond awesome! So often we don’t hear about these stories because they get lost in the crazy distractions swirling around us. So proud of their accomplishments, as I am sure her teachers, parents, and school administrators are too. Thanks for your sweet comments. 🥰💐🤗💖😊

    Like

  9. What an exceptional story! And I’m glad they both are doing what they have true interests in and not what brought them a bit of fame. Kudos to those brilliant young women! 🙌🏾🙌🏾🙌🏾

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Wow! Amazing sory! My dear friend Kym you know how to inspiring us.
    Youngest feeling motivated must be abig key for their lifes.
    Have a blessing night! Happy day! Abrazote mi amiga!
    Thank’s for all.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I know what you mean Elvira. These young ladies are simply amazing. They motivate me with their story to put your best foot forward. Thanks for your encouragement mi amiga! Abrazote! 😊🌺🤗🦋🥰🙏🏼☕😍💖🥂

    Like

Leave a comment