I Digress and Remember Nursery Rhymes

Image Credit: Andrew Ebrahim

Little girls are made of sugar, and spice, and everything nice. That’s what little girls are made of. Little boys are made of snips and snails, and puppy dog tails. That’s what little boys are made of.

It comes as no surprise that every now and then a nursery rhyme pops in my head and I have no clue where on earth it came from. Poetry was introduced to us at a very early age. Repetition for reciting a nursery rhyme helps us to retain that rhythm which enables us to remember. Their clever use of language makes them easy to remember.

As you know, a nursery rhyme is a traditional, frequently anonymous, song or poem for children that tells a story in just a few short memorable lines. They may have silly subjects with amusing patterns of sound and rhythm but it is still entertaining for children and some adults to hear again and savor.

Nowadays I think about some of those old nursery rhymes and can recall how we were transported to a believable land of make-believe. At least we thought they were real.

Do you recall a favorite nursery rhyme that makes you wonder or remember with fond and fun memories that take you back in time?

Image Credit: CharmianGaffneyArt

37 thoughts on “I Digress and Remember Nursery Rhymes

  1. Jack Spratt and his wife, Wee Willie Winkle, Old King Cole, Mistress Mary, Bo Peep and her lost sheep. Today’s fairy tales are much less benign. Mother Goose has been cooked. Fun post, Miz Kym.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh what a charming image of an owl! “Hey Diddle Diddle!” Is my favorite! 🐮🌕🐶🧫🥄 Once the cow jumped over the moon, everything and anything becomes possible in nursery land! 😂🤣

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So many childhood rhymes! Jack be Nimble, Itsy Bitsy Spider, and I’m a Little Teapot, come to mind. Thank you for the fun question Kymmy. It is good to keep that youthful spirit alive. 🫖📚💖

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Girlfriend, you are a Nursery Rhyme Queen! But oh no…those sheep of Bo Peep’s may have been kidnapped! 😂🐑😜 Besides, they were probably getting on her nerves anyway! Love this Miz Pat dahling! 😘

    Like

  5. Christopher, now this one was a hoot! Love it and you were on point with this rhyme. That cat must have been playing some kind of jam if the cow 🐄 actually jumped over the moon 🌙! LOL 🤣😜😂 Thanks so much for sharing my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I am so there with you Luisa! I didn’t know I shared such fond memories with such a scholar like you my sweet friend. It’s interesting how we can retain such recitations after so many years have passed. I love it! Thank you so much! 🥰💖🤗🥂😊

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh my goodness Maggie, how precious! I know you were so adorable and I know your dad was a proud papa listening to you. What a memory! 🤗💖🥰 Thank you for sharing such a special moment in time.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Oh wow Rosaliene, yep that one certainly comes to mind for me too. But girl, Humpty should have been hard-boiled and not raw! 😜 Poor thing. But what a rhyme that was! Thanks my queen for sharing such a fond memory! 🥚🥰🍳

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Aww! Such a lovely rhymes for those cutes babys so tender my dear friend Kym.
    How many things can we learned about kids, singing them is like a nice touch
    that they will remeber always. Great post! Thank’s for share it.
    Havea a sonderful, relaxing evening with a delicious cup o tea.
    Abrazote mi amiga!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Oh wow Michele my Belle, I forgot about those! They are some great ones indeed that we are all too familiar with. I love how we recapture our youthful spirit just when we need it. 🤗💖🥰 Thanks for sharing those great nursery rhymes my Dancing Queen!!! 🕷🪔☕

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Oh thanks so much for your kind and sweet message Elvira. Remembering such tender messages from childhood brings a huge smile to my face. Have a delightful evening mi amiga! Abrazote! 😊⭐🥂😘🙏🏼💐🎁☕

    Like

  12. Oh my goodness, here’s my handle, here’s my spout! ☕🍵☕ I love to recall something lighthearted for a change and thanks for joining in on the fun! 🥰💖😘 I hope these nursery rhymes don’t fade away as I fear they might! 🤞🏼

    Liked by 1 person

  13. So, is it for a rhyme or reason, little girls are made of everything nice, and little boys chase puppy tales. Or perhaps, there’s just Moore to the tale, what pops into the mind of a poet’s heart! Blessings my sister!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment