Small Acts, Big Difference

modern art illustration about kindness
Image Credit: Linnaea Mallette

I often think about my contributions to the world, even if my world is within a certain geographical or demographical scope. We typically think about what act of kindness we can do for others that will display our compassion and empathy. Innately, our human nature is one that tries to respond to a need when we see someone in need.

Kindness is one asset that is free to give. It costs nothing to be kind even in our crazy messed up world where intolerance seems to reign supreme. Let’s face it, we all have issues, whether we want to admit it or not. We tend to be superficial at times and try to put on a facade indicating that everything is hunky dory, when it is not. 

But let’s keep it real here. I believe that every little bit that is positive and constructive helps. I believe that as Bill Withers sang in his song “Lean on Me” that message in his lyrics reverberates more now than ever. I find that if there is something I can do, no matter how small or how insignificant I might think it may be, it probably can be useful to someone else. I ask myself, as I pray each morning, what can I do this day, this moment, to encourage, to assist, or to simply listen. I focus on myself to make sure I am being a better me, a healthier me, so that I can be grounded and strong enough to be a viable contributor to my family and my community, without being depleted of energy or ability.

Yes, we follow our dreams, although we may not achieve the leaps and bounds, or that great utopia as we hope. Yet in that regard, let’s not forget nor overlook or cast aside the great progress we made or the monumental achievements we will make. ❤🤗❤ Small acts, can make a big difference. Just make sure your small acts are good ones. Have a fan-tabulously productive and awe-inspiring day y’all! 🌞

12 thoughts on “Small Acts, Big Difference

  1. Thank you, Kym. My favorite mindful motivator. I went to an actual in-person, in a rec center dance class tonight. It felt strange and amazing and I was so uplifted by the joy shared by the simple act of sharing space and smiling at each other. Small gestures, but the energy and love was palpable. 💖

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Michele, how awesome. We don’t realize sometimes just how much we stimulate others when we are stimulated. I think in spite of the craziness we see in our world these days, that overall people are genuinely kind and compassionate.

    Now that is energizing to me too! 🥳😇🤭

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It was awesome. One of those magical moments – an hour actually. 😁 I agree with you. There is tremendous compassion out there! 💓
    Wonderful! Let’s carry that energy into our day and the rest of the week. 💃🏻 And share it too, as we do our best to do. 🥰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment